Do it right the first time and you won’t have to do it again

Because of the journey I’m on personally and because of what I see at work on a daily basis, I thought it was necessary to once gain express my….what can I call it….annoyance (?) towards weight-loss quick-fixes.

I (try to) go to the gym most days, some days I go to the gym in the morning and jog in the evening or vice versa. I eat healthily most of the time. And I am getting healthier, fitter and slimmer. It feels like it’s going a bit slower than I would like it to, but the point is, it’s going. I’m sure a few of you can relate?

Then…a friend/family member, or in my case, a colleague comes and tells you about how they’ve lost 12kg in the last 2 months. Urgh. And that conversation is enough to make you feel like WHY are you putting in so much effort for a much smaller reward. Well that’s how I felt at least. Until I realized, wait… I don’t want to inject myself every day to help me lose weight (which is what my colleague is doing). Yeah she lost a lot of weight, but her husband has to inject her every day, and she’s on a very strict diet. A quick-fix.

Another colleague of mine has had her jaw wired shut in a desperate attempt to lose weight. True story. This is the second time she’s doing it as she has regained all the weight since the last time her jaw was wired shut. It’s 36+ degrees here most days, and she has to have soup for lunch. Another quick-fix.

Seeing what people go through to lose weight has made me realise that I’d much rather do it the right way, which is and always will be what I encourage my patients to do as well. Do yourself a favour, start working towards a healthy lifestyle. Form good, healthy habits.

What both my colleagues are lacking is physical activity! Get active, make it part of your daily routine.

If you’ve inherited poor eating habits from your family, change them! And then get your kids to inherit healthy eating habits from you.

Don’t put a time frame on being healthy, get healthy and then stay healthy.

I read a tweet the other day that said something along the lines of “You didn’t need a pill to put all the weight on, so you don’t need a pill to get all the weight off”. It’s soooo true.

If you’re making a lifestyle change, be encouraged, be proud of what you’re doing :)
You’ll feel so much better knowing you didn’t take any pills or injections or wires in your jaw to achieve your goal weight! And yes, it may take a little longer, but it will last so much longer. If you change your lifestyle, there’s no stopping and starting again. If you do it right the first time, you won’t have to do it again :)

I’m feeling encouraged again, hope you are too:)

As always, wishing you health and happiness :)
Robyn

20121115-230308.jpg

3 thoughts on “Do it right the first time and you won’t have to do it again

  1. Thanks for this post! I have been feeling exactly the same. Even though I am eating right and gyming, I am still unable to lose as much as i hear some people around me do. It’s frustrating. But i believe if it drops off slowly, it stays off. So I’m keeping at it.

  2. Yes Robyn! I am 60 years and have lost 9kg during 2013. Changed my eating habits (realised I will have to eat like this for the rest of my life!) Also added exercise. Have watched colleagues who injected and dieted strenuously lose weight and blow up again. My goal? Not to put any weight on over the festive season! Next year and perhaps the year after I still have another 15kg to lose. You go girls!!

Leave a Reply

